Help Make Preservation a Priority!

Announcing the Ed Lentz Prize | Columbus Landmarks

We are proud to announce that we are accepting applications for the very first Ed Lentz Prize!

The $500 cash prize to honor Ed’s legacy will be awarded annually to the individual who submits the best presentation for providing a better understanding of the history, architecture and/or importance of historic preservation in central Ohio. The work (writing, presentation, film, other) must have been created within the past three years and should document, evoke, interpret, analyze or capture the importance of place and its preservation.

The annual prize is made possible by the generosity of multiple donors, and the Columbus Landmarks Foundation Ed Lentz Prize Endowment Fund has been established at The Columbus Foundation. Not only will this prize honor Ed’s important legacy in perpetuity, but will also provide a platform for those whose creative talents and passion for the past, present and future will shape our city.

Ed serves as our Director Emeritus, having twice served as Executive Director – once in the 1980s and again from 2013-2017. Ed is also well known for teaching, writing and exploring the history of central Ohio. He is the author of several books, including Columbus – The Story of a City (2003), and Historic Columbus (2012).

The winning entry will be selected by a three person jury made up by Matthew Leasure, PLA, AICP, LEED AP and Principal, Designing Local; Dr. Toni Smith, Adjunct History Professor, Columbus State Community College; and David Weaver, Executive Director, Ohioana Library.

Applications for the first award are due Friday, January 17, 2020. The first winner will be announced on February 20, 2020.

Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Name *

Your Mail *

Your Comment*