Help Make Preservation a Priority!

And the winner is …

Congratulations to the Columbus Metropolitan Library Northside Branch, winner of the 2018 James B. Recchie Design Award!

In a program at the Wells Barn at Franklin Park Conservatory, Columbus Landmarks announced the winner of the 2018 James B. Recchie Award. This was the 29 th time the award has been given in honor of the late James B. Recchie, a founding trustee. The winner of the 2018 James B. Recchie Award is the Columbus Metropolitan Library Northside Branch, located at 1423 North High St, designed by NBBJ. The building provides an outstanding view of its bold form; open and lights spaces. It features multiple serviceable areas for study, reading, and research; community meeting rooms; and public art.

The James B. Recchie Design Award recognizes all types of urban design including the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation or adaptive re-use of historic buildings, additions to historic buildings, new building design, landscape design, and public art. “This building with its open and transparent design; thoughtful details like the lighting of the book collection which makes it the centerpiece of the building; attractive and comfortable places for a variety of activities that accommodate a diverse group of people; and the dramatic but appropriately scaled streetscape presence create the best of what a 21st century neighborhood library can be. It is open and welcoming to all” said Nancy Recchie, Historic Preservation Consultant with Benjamin D. Rickey & Co. and sister of the Award’s namesake.

The James B. Recchie Award celebrates projects that add to the distinctive character and improved quality of life of Columbus and the designers responsible for them. Following a public nomination process, five finalists were selected by a screening committee. Jurors then determined the winner after making site visits. The 2018 jurors were Dr. Melanie Corn, President of the Columbus College of Art & Design; Jim Houk, ASLA, AICP, is Vice President, Managing Director of Ohio, and Chairman ofthe Board of OHM Advisors; and Alan Weiskopf, Alan Weiskopf, AIA, Managing Principal, Perfido Weiskopf Wagstaff + Goettel, Pittsburgh.

The four other finalists for this year’s award were Dorrian Green, 50 S. Belle St; The Julian, 272 S. Front St; LeVeque Tower, 50 W. Broad St; and Lifeline of Ohio Donor Memorial, 770 Kinnear Rd.


Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Name *

Your Mail *

Your Comment*